Established 1891, Incorporated 1892. Manhasset Bay Yacht Club boasts an impressive history.
During the winter of 1888-89, William G. Newman and George A. Corry, gathered around them a score of yachtsman for the purpose of organizing an informal sailing club from which later sprung the Douglaston Yacht Club. The lack of a permanent Clubhouse, the gradual silting of Little Neck Bay and the mining of Long Island Sound during the Spanish American War caused the members to seek a better location further eastward in Port Washington. On June 3, 1899 the Club's name was officially changed to Manhasset Bay Yacht Club.
In 1902 a permanent Clubhouse was erected which stood until 1929 when the present one was built. The Junior Clubhouse was commissioned in June 1984. It is the home of the Manhasset Bay Junior Yacht Club as well as the focal point of sailing and other activities. Manhasset Bay Yacht Club celebrated its 100th anniversary during the 1991 season, and continues to this day to be a major contributor to the sport of Yachting and Club life on the Long Island Sound.
For a copy of our Centenial History Book, please contact the MBYC office at 516-767-2150.
Goerge Hinman Award
Harry James Miller Award
Commodore Peter Lorson Memorial Trophy
David T. Pryor Award