Manhasset Bay Shipyard
Winter storage & year-round repair services
451 Main Street, Port Washington, NY 11050
Manhasset Bay Shipyard offers a full range of services, including:
Storage (winter and summer)
Engine maintenance and repair
Bottom painting, varnishing
Electronics installation and repair
Manhasset Bay Shipyard has probably been used as a marine facility as far back as the post-Civil War period. In 1887, Elbert Stannard, a local resident and retired clipper ship captain, started a business converting wooden warships -- made obsolete by steam engines and iron cladding -- into freight and passenger vessels. Stannard's business likely included the current shipyard property. In 1889, six wooden warships and two coastal schooners owned by Stannard burned in a spectacular fire of unknown origin off Plum Point. Today, the small creek that runs along the southern side of the shipyard is known as Stannard's Creek.
Shipyard Manager - George Martin, who has four full-time employees reporting to him.
George Martin brings to Manhasset Bay Shipyard more than twenty years of varied shipyard experience.
George began his nautical career as an Electronics Technician in the U.S. Navy. He is skilled in all aspects of boat maintenance and repair, including boat systems, fiberglass and gelcoat repair, bottom care, painting, and rigging. George is also a certified Yamaha technician, qualified in inboard and outboard gas engine repair. He has studied Yacht and Small Craft Surveying at the Chapman School of Seamanship.