Manhasset Bay Challenge Cup

The trust was originally drawn up by Manhasset Bay Y.C. on December 19, 1902, and amended in 1905, 1908, 1957, 1962, 1963, 1972, 1976, 1984, 1992, 1996, and 2001. Any organized yacht club in good standing, or any country, has the right to challenge the club holding the Cup, which shall defend it between June 15th and October 1st. A match shall be not less than three nor more than five races. Courses shall be not less than seven nautical miles nor more than twenty-three. Competing yachts shall be not less than 18’ L.W.L., and no club shall enter more than one yacht. Matches shall not be sailed in the same class boat nor in the same waters for more than three consecutive years.

The trophy is the oldest yachting trophy competed for annually in the United States. Only the famous America’s Cup and the Brooklyn Cup precede it, and they are competed for at longer intervals. Since 1902, the Challenge Cup has been won by 26 different clubs from Chicago, to Marblehead, to Bermuda with Eastern Y.C. of Marblehead winning it nine times. Manhasset Bay Y.C. has been the victor seven times, winning in 1903, 1930, 1965, 1971, 1975, 1995, 1998, and 2002.

Click here for a full record of winners.

Click here for the Deed of Trust.