Frostbite Awards

The excitement at MBYC doesn’t end when the club is decommissioned in the fall. On Sundays, from November to April, frostbiting at Manhasset Bay is an integral part of the fabric of our club. It is an 81 year old tradition at MBYC that attracts sailors from both sides of Long Island Sound.

The 2011-2012 frostbiting season was one of the best seasons ever. Over 60 sailors were out on the water at various times in three competitive fleets of IC dinghies, Lasers and Ideal 18s. The Frostbite Race Committee headed by PROs Jeanne Miler and Rita Syracuse was on station on Kraus’ Kastle every Sunday and, with the assistance of Sue Miller, Phyllis Giordan.  Kathy Toombs, Charles Comer, Lynn and Doug Stebbins, Art Donovan and Dan Coughlin, ran 269 races during the season plus an additional 23 races that took place during the two day New Year’s regatta.
A highlight of the season was the frostbite awards dinner. In the Ideal 18 Fleet, Vince Syracuse and his crew Jon Bainton won the Brakman/Schwarz Perpetual Trophy for the 2011-2012 Ideal 18 season championship. John Bainton came in first for the Ideal 18 crew race. In the IC fleet, Pedro Lorsen and crew Coleen Stack won the Harry L. Powell trophy for their first place for the season. They also won the Wheeler Trophy for the IC Long distance race. Madeline Simms won the Frostbite Crew Championship Trophy. Leon Specthrie was the season winner in the Laser fleet. Amelia Amon was this year’s winner of the Howard G. Seymour Award in recognition of her 20 year participation in frostbiting on Manhasset Bay.

2011-2012 Season Awards Dinner

Below, you may enjoy browsing photos taken at the awards dinner, held at MBYC on Saturday May 12, 2012.  If you were there, you're here!